Under revision

A review on 3 November 2026 found errors in this report, including statements about EU law. A corrected version will replace it, with a log of what changed. Read the notice.

Assessment2026-07-01

H&M Group

7 claims assessed · Prasine Index · trace fe58c180

Not fully supported41 / 100

Aggregate across 7 claims · range 41–52

ScoreFindingClaim assessed
52 / 100Not fully supported“Target 2040: Achieve net-zero by reducing absolute scope 1, 2 and 3 emissions by at least 90 percent against a 2019 base” (detailed below)
22 / 100Not independently verified“In 2022, we signed a multi-year deal with Climeworks for direct air capture and storage with final delivery in 2033.”
24 / 100Not independently verified“The Sustainability-Linked Finance Framework includes the H&M group's 2030 goals for share of recycled materials in comme”
33 / 100Not independently verified“Target 2030: Reduce absolute scope 1, 2 and 3 greenhouse gas emissions by 56 percent against a 2019 baseline.”
22 / 100Not independently verified“Reduce absolute freshwater use in wet processing units: 2022 baseline, -10% by 2025, -30% by 2030”
24 / 100Not independently verified“H&M Group has science-based targets to reduce our emissions by 56% by 2030.”
22 / 100Not independently verified“We are supporting the first three levels of our supply chain (also known as tiers 1, 2 and 3) to phase out these boilers”

Detailed assessment of highest-scoring claim (52 / 100) follows.

investor relations page, https://hmgroup.com/sustainability/leading-the-change/goals-and-ambitions, 2024
“Target 2040: Achieve net-zero by reducing absolute scope 1, 2 and 3 emissions by at least 90 percent against a 2019 baseline, and balance out any remaining emissions with permanent carbon removals.”
Not fully supported52 / 100

Range 40–60 · Confidence 60%

Evidence

1

EUR-Lex, EmpCo Directive (EU 2024/825), 2024

Establishes that net-zero claims must demonstrate residual emissions will be permanently removed via certified carbon removals, not offset credits, and that generic net-zero pledges lacking a credible, verifiable transition plan are automatically unfair commercial practices under the amended UCPD Annex I. Confidence: 0.95. URL:

Context · 95%

2

EUR-Lex, CSRD (2022/2464), 2022

Requires large companies to disclose Scope 1, 2 and 3 GHG emissions under ESRS E1; a net-zero claim inconsistent with or absent from mandatory CSRD disclosure constitutes a material inconsistency. Confidence: 0.95. URL:

Context · 95%

3

SBTi, target record (year not specified)

Confirms H&M Group status "Targets set," temperature classification 1.5°C, with a net-zero target component recorded as "Targets set." Supports the existence of a validated target trajectory. Confidence: 0.70. URL:

Context · 70%

4

Source document analysis, 2024

Confirms the 2040 net-zero target exists with a named baseline year (2019) and reduction percentage (90%), interim progress of 41% (Scope 1+2) and 35% (Scope 3), but finds no disclosed absolute baseline emissions figures (MT CO2e), no abatement-to-removal split, no description of certified permanent removal mechanisms (DAC, BECCS, biochar), and no verified transition plan. Confidence: 0.95. URL:

Context · 95%

Assessment

H&M Group operates no installations registered under the EU ETS, so the EUTL ground-truth emissions database — Prasine's primary verification source — could not be used to independently check absolute emissions against the claim. This is a confirmed data gap, not evidence of concealment.

The claim itself is better-constructed than many corporate net-zero pledges: it names a specific baseline year (2019), a specific reduction percentage (90% absolute, covering Scope 1, 2 and 3), reports interim progress (41% Scope 1+2, 35% Scope 3), specifies permanent removals rather than offset credits (aligning with the EmpCo Directive's core distinction), and references SBTi validation. The SBTi record confirms "Targets set" status with a 1.5°C classification and a net-zero target component, providing moderate support (confidence 0.70).

However, the source document analysis (confidence 0.95) identifies material substantiation gaps: no disclosed absolute baseline emissions in MT CO2e, no breakdown of the abatement-to-removal split, and no description of the certified removal mechanisms (e.g. DAC, BECCS, biochar) that would underpin the "permanent carbon removals" language. Without these disclosures, the claim cannot be independently verified against the EmpCo Directive's substantiation standard, despite its structural sophistication relative to generic pledges.

This is not a repeat claim — H&M Group has one prior Prasine assessment and no history of repeat violations on this specific claim, which is a mitigating factor. No lobbying contradiction was identified: the EU Transparency Register lookup and LobbyMap data were unavailable for this assessment, so lobbying alignment could not be assessed (a data gap, treated as neutral, not obstructive).

Key finding

H&M Group's 2040 net-zero target is more specific than typical corporate pledges — naming a baseline year, reduction percentage, and interim progress — but fails the EmpCo Directive's substantiation standard because it discloses no absolute baseline emissions figures and no detail on the certified permanent removal mechanisms it will rely on.

Data gaps

SourceDetail
EU ETS EUTL:No installation IDs registered for H&M Group. As an apparel retailer without ETS-covered installations, ground-truth verified emissions data could not be checked against the claim. This lowers overall confidence in the assessment to 60%, since absolute emissions figures underlying the 90% reduction claim remain unverified by an independent regulatory dataset.
LobbyMap / EU Transparency Register:No record retrieved — the register lookup was unavailable for this run, so registration status and lobbying alignment could not be assessed. Treated as neutral rather than obstructive, but the gap means a potential contradiction between climate lobbying activity and public claims could not be assessed.
SBTi net-zero validation:The record reports net-zero target status as "Targets set" rather than "Targets set — near-term and net-zero validated," leaving ambiguity as to whether the 2040 net-zero component itself, as distinct from interim SBTi targets, has been independently validated.

Sources

  1. EUR-Lex, EmpCo Directive (EU 2024/825), 2024: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32024L0825
  2. EUR-Lex, CSRD (2022/2464), 2022: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32022L2464
  3. SBTi, target record (year not specified): https://sciencebasedtargets.org/companies-taking-action
  4. Source document analysis, 2024: https://hmgroup.com/sustainability/leading-the-change/goals-and-ambitions

This assessment was produced by an automated pipeline from the sources listed above. The score describes how the evidence relates to the claim and is not a legal finding. Corrections and replies: cm.blomqvist@gmail.com. The about page sets out the corrections policy and the right of reply.